Testimonials

Shann Lin – September 2018 – “GS-diving offers excellent scuba diving weekend from Singapore, the package is affordable and very convenient. Basically I leave work at about 6:30pm on a Friday and return back to Singapore before 9pm on the Sunday night. I also get plenty of napping time on the boat so it is not so tiring when you have to return to work on Monday.

The owner Gary and his wife Vivien trains the divemasters well and the team operates like a family with good “sea-sense”. The staff are also very professional and friendly, they would respond positively to requests that make you feel comfortable on the boat, help you to get around once you are in the water e.g. if you have taken a break from diving and have trouble equalizing in the beginning like myself.

This is a LOB experience, so you have a choice to socialize with others in the social/common area or you could just retreat to the cabin or the front deck for some quite time – which ever you prefer really, the point is that you actually have a choice (unlike most of the other groups where you are often stuck where they put you).

Another unique thing GS-diving does is the dive sites they go, I did not see any other operators in any of the sites we go and probably not many people know, needless to say there are a lot of wrecks as a result of WWII in the area.”

Damien Storer – August 2018 – “Just returned from my first ever diving experience with gs-diving and completing my Open Water certificate. Great fun and truly memorable. Professional team, well organised and made me feel welcome from the start. There’s no egos or bragging here, just staff keen to share their passion with others. I can’t speak highly enough of Julian my dive instructor. He made learning a fun, safe and exciting experience. Salute!”

Amit Saberwal – August 2018 – “great team, very passionate and I had a lovely trip”

Rob Lee – August 2018 – “Sincere owner who strives to deliver a good experience for everyone.”

Tom Hlavac – August 2018 – “I have just started my 2nd trip with GS-DIVING. Had a great dinner with people who love the sea and fish. Looking forward to tomorrow’s diving. A great escape from the big city.”

Lim Wen Yong – August 2018 – “Enjoy the whole trip and the instructors and dm are very helpful and professional.  Also the food prepared by the crews is good especially the prata and curry loving it. Will dive with GS-DIVING again.”

Jingmei L – July 2018 – “Went on a Nikoi Islands, Northern Reefs Of Bintan and Wrecks of Indonesia LOB with GS Diving. While I skipped several dives, I was pleasantly surprised that they offered up to 7 dives if anyone is up for it. The group hit the water for the last dive on Saturday at 10pm! Recommended for dive addicts!”

Pearlyn Chua – June 2018 – “Awesome liveaboard experience that settles everything from the transport from Singapore and back, to the accomodation (small and cosy, but nice common areas to hang out), the food (freshly cooked and delicious, though not the healthiest), and of course the dives (equipment is separate for leisure divers)! The crew were friendly and helpful, and Gary is earnest and hardworking, often staying up through the night to plan. The Nikoi trip has some nice sandy bottom, reef, wreck, and drift dives; we were also blessed with pretty good visibility for most of the dives! 10/10 experience, zero regrets”

Natalie Soh – June 2018 – “I did my Open Water with GS Diving’s LOB and loved it! The instructors, Gary and Julian, were both very nurturing & thorough, plus the small class size meant that each student got more attention–very comforting, especially for inexperienced divers! The crew was so helpful too, and made the entire LOB experience feel like home. Will definitely be back again!”

Jay Ng – May 2018 – “Itinerary includes deep dive, drift dive, wreck dive, night dive and many more.. This Nikoi Island trip can be as many as 7 dives.. what can you ask for more??? Seaborne (LOB) cut down travel time.. provision of rest area to recharge.. Hot drinks on the house… Serving food is plenty.. Consider the cost.. Absolutely worth to try out at least once in your life..

Suitable for divers wannabe, novice divers, divers seeking to upgrade skill sets.. Rusty divers seeking refresher.. Experience divers for networking..

**Not suitable for divers seeking baby sitting.. or divers expecting world class cruise service..”

Jeraldine Phneah – May 2018 – “Fantastic food + patient & friendly instructors + great company. :) Thank you!”

Debbie Cacho Cabading – May 2018 – “Gary and the whole crew were definitely accommodating and helpful!! We cant wait to see everyone soon!”

Diana L – May 2018 – “I have been on multiple trips with GS-Diving and every time they manage to exceed my expectations! As a person who tried a few dive operators in Singapore, I am absolutely confident GS-Diving is the best one and I feel they are extremely underrated. Why? Let me explain.

– Safety. All instructors and dive masters demonstrate an excellent standard of competency. Whether you are students on a course or just fun diving, the professionals will always keep an eye on you! Gary, Julien and Chris have been amazing instructors, always willing to share the priceless tips on how to become a better diver. While Bert and Vivien are just everything you look for in dive masters! They always spot the cool creatures and make the dives so much fun!

– Organization & equipment. When you go on a trip with GS-Diving, everything goes super smoothly. Transport comes on time, no sudden changes of plans, logistics is arranged perfectly. All rental gear is waiting for you at the destination, is in excellent condition and available in a wide range of sizes.

– Bottom line: What you pay for… GS-Diving caters more for loyal customers, rather than the quantity. The groups are always small, you make friends with other returning customers, and you get personalised attention & service from the company. The pricing is on the same level as other SG schools, but you get a much higher standard of everything: accommodation is always more comfortable, meals are well-planed and sufficient to feed an elephant (you will never go starving or dissatisfied)…Finally, you get to make a personal connection with the operators, rather than feel you’re just their 1,000,000th one-time customer.

All this always comes up to amazing times spent with like-minded people sharing the experiences of the activity we love the most: diving!  Can’t recommend GS-Diving more! Definitely joining for more upcoming trips ;)”

Ronald Chan – April 2018 – “Professional live on board diving operator under new management Gary and his experienced team of divers. Our dive master Bert has 350 logged dives and unearths all sea treasures! Amazing! The friendly crew was on the ball, equipment well maintained and in mint condition, organization of the dive trip solid bom pee pee. The food was fit for kings. 10/10 would dive with GS again.”

Diana Lisova – April 2018 – “Great diving weekend getaway from Singapore. I joined the liveaboard trip on MV Seaborne around Bintan last weekend. Everything was organized very well: no delays, changes of plans or whatsoever, which I experienced with other Singaporean dive operators. All equipment is well maintained, the instructors and dive masters are very friendly, professional and ensure high standards of safety. Throughout the trip you do not need to worry about anything, just put on the gear and dive! Food was great, served 4x times a day. Pricing is very reasonable, considering everything. I am very surprised to see negative reviews about the organization and the boat. The boat is equipped with pretty much anything you need for comfort: hot showers, a fridge, a cooler with fresh water. If you are expecting a 5-star all-inclusive cruise with Michelin star chefs, you should go on a cruise ship. This is a diving trip on a diving boat after all. It’s all about diving and having a great time with like-minded people!”

468jayt – April 2018 – “Gary is a very hospitable, personal, kind and down to earth person. Boat crew were nice and the LOB food was fantastic! I also liked how clean the boat was and the boat was big enough to accommodate approximately 16 pax including the instructors – with sufficient space to don on without getting a cramp.  I also find that the dive crew’s safety and professionalism helps divers of any certification feel comfortable. Will recommend and dive again with GS-Diving!”

Jay-Bernie Tan – April 2018 – “Gary is a very hospitable, personal, kind and down to earth person. Boat crew were nice and the LOB food was fantastic! I also liked how clean the boat was and the boat was big enough to accommodate approximately 16 pax including the instructors – with sufficient space to don on without getting a cramp. I also find that the dive crew’s safety and professionalism helps divers of any certification feel comfortable. Will recommend and dive again with GS-Diving!”

Enzon Tan – April 2018 – “Had a great diving experience with a crew of dedicated and fun loving instructors”

Steven Lee – March 2018 – “Had a great weekend doing my open water course with GS-Diving. Instructor Gary and Julian are very professional and patient with students, always watching over us and making sure we are safe! Was really fun and enjoyable learning with them! They were always joking during briefings to make sure everyone had fun and not stress out! I was slightly afraid of being in the ocean, but they were being so patient and always watching over us it made us feel safe with them in the ocean! Highly recommend! Was a great pleasure to learn and overcome my fears of being in the ocean and diving with the both of them! Thank you once again for taking care of me! I proud to be your student and a diver now as I have 2 wonderful Instructors!”

Imran ‘Dibbs’ Dharamsi – March 2018 – “Organised an excellent weekend trip to Tioman for the Open Water certification. Their partner Scuba-do was top-notch and had lots of fun. GS were brilliant when I had to rearrange the trip back.”

Jia Xuan – March 2018 – “Grateful for the spontaneous bunch of humans that went through the Open Water Course with me. It was definitely a memorable first dive of my life.  Thankful for amazing instructors too; Julian and Gary from GS-Diving. Thank you for being patient with a bunch of seasick and easily anxious kids, always doing checks to ensure we are okay.”

Jasmine Chichibu Ng – March 2018 – “Gary was super patient to teach and facilities (staying onboard) was awesome :) food is gr8 too. WILL COME BACK TO DIVE W THEM AGAIN!”

Firdaus Buhari – February 2018 – “Great crew and instructors! Had a great weekends on the seaborne and happy to have done my courses with GS Diving. Thanks Gary and the other instructors! Looking forward to more trips!”

Ignacio Caicoya – January 2018 – “Amazing experience! Leopard (our instructor) was so patient and explained everything really well, was so professional all the time! I highly recommend to learn how to dive with them! The crew was amazing, everyone super friendly and the food was delicious!!!!”

Kimberly Sarah Tan – January 2018 – “Went for the open water course with them.. And our instructor was awesome. Leopard our diving instructor was very professional and showed us the fundamentals of diving. As a fresh diver, everything was very clearly explained,he is not only patient but always worked and corrected our dive techniques as well.We could not have wished for a better instructor as frankly was expecting a touch and go type of course. The package was value for money and even though it’s very affordable. The quality of the teaching was not compromised.. Love the experience of living on board seaborne and not to mention Gary and viviene and the Seacrew were awesome host as well. Food was great as well especially after a dive.. Always looked forward to the next meal.. No matter how bad the weather conditions they made sure all divers were brief and guided properly especially to safety..I would definitely recommend this diving centre to my friends and family… 5 stars and more!”

Ng Chong Hou Garvin – July 2017 – “Did the LOB over the weekend! Super nice crew. Good friendly guides, comfortable boat, interesting dive sites around Nikoi island.”

Sara Elizabeth – July 2017 – “My friends and i spent the weekend on the boat on a liveaboard dive trip to Nikoi island. the boat, Seaborne is charming in its own way. it was comfortable and i slept super soundly throughout the night. the sundeck has many beds for us to sleep after our dives too. a big shoutout to the chefs, they were brilliant in spoiling us with wonderful dishes throughout the day. loved the smell of their dishes, especially the curry, during surface intervals. GS’s rental dive gear is in excellent condition and instructor Gary and Divemasters Jonathan and Leopard gave great advice and ensured that our dives were all safe and pleasant ones. Big thank you to Gary’s wife, Vivien for attending to our adhoc queries and needs in the salon, doing the photo props and taking photos of us – you’re one awesome superwoman! our trip ended with the sighting of the bloody big legendary giant grouper in the Sarawak Maru ship during our wreck exploration. IT’S LEGIT. my jaw almost dropped out at how humongous it was. thank you GS for having us!”

Yvonne Heng – March 2017 – “Family Orientated, really nice crew and boat, deeply enjoyed going out diving with these guys. Food was great and flexibility between dives and dive gear, absolutely spectacular. Would definitely go out diving with these people again. Absolutely loved it!”

Denise Wong – February 2017 – “Awesome fun! Cheers to the good-humoured instructor Gary Lim (and his friendly wife) who was super patient with my terrible equalising & nerves. Learning with him put me at ease and really helped me get past my nerves to start enjoy diving. Not to mention the yummy Indo food on board.. Sedap~!”

Wen Kai Ng – February 2017 – “Did my PADI Open Water course over the weekend. The instructor Gary Lim was encouraging and patient. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to take the PADI Open Water course. Staying onboard the Seaborne was a great experience. The food? Godly.”

Dylan Lim – December 2016 – “GS-Diving and the Seaborne has an amazing crew and passionate instructors. Thanks to Gary Lim and Alvin Zhang for a great relaxing Christmas weekend back in the sea! They go to extra lengths just to make their trips that little bit more special. Keep up the good work in sharing your passion!!

Paul Ng – December 2016 – “Great weekend – thanks to the team at GS Diving: Gary, Vivien and Daniel. Despite possibly being the most challenging time of the year to dive these parts the diving was well organised; boat was well sorted; staff attentive; food delicious and the atmosphere on the boat cheerful and friendly. The hospitality was great – Lena and I will definitely dive again with you guys!”

Ignatius Roberts – December 2016 – “Excellent weekend doing our open water PADI course on board the Seaborne in Batam. Gary Lim is a great instructor, there was a fun atmosphere on the boat and the crew prepared delicious food. Highly recommend it for whoever wants to get their diver’s accreditation whilst in Singapore.”

Steve Suppa – December 2016 – “Just wanted to thank you for the dive opportunity on Saturday. I had a great time and look forward to future dives with your group. Everyone was so accommodating.”

Rachel Barrett – December 2016 – “Just to say we have such an incredible weekend. Gary Lim was a fantastic instructor and made sure everyone felt confident and stayed together. He was also a true gentleman. The crew were also great, worked extremely hard and prepared delicious meals! I couldn’t recommend the experience highly enough. A big thank you. It was a very special weekend.”

Ned Speed – November 2016

Winston Poh – September 2016 – “Thanks to GS DIVING, Karen and Eva, was having a relaxing half day 2 dives.”

Bertrand Chauvel – “DIVING BATAM 17-18 JUNE 2016
Low visibility, ok noted, reef covered with silt, also ok, understood… but at the end the marine life is still there for those who look closely. A special thank you to this batfish who spent one hour diving around my buddy and me ! Wonders are always closer than we think, its just a question of opening our eyes ;)

Visibilité à chier, ok c’est noté, le récif couvert de boue, ok on a compris… et pourtant la vie marine est là pour ceux qui regardent de près. Un grand merci à ce platax qui est resté une heure avec nous durant toute la plongée ! L’émerveillement est souvent plus près de nous qu’on ne le pense, il suffit d’ouvrir les yeux ;)

All photos shot with Sony RX100 in Patima housing – Twin Inon Z-240 strobes – 100 iso – Subsee +10 wet lens when applicable. Dive buddy Paul Clarke. Also with Silvano Morano. Logistics thanks to GS-DIVINGwww.seaborne.asia
Photos from this trip may be viewed here.

Amr Eidarous – May 2016 – “It was an amazing trip, thank u GS team.”

Haron Vestry – April 2016 – “Egil and I have just completed the open water course.  It was two great days in Indonesia, thanks a lot! Superb food, crew and also the instructor Mark was very nice, calm and professional.”

Paul Wiste – April 2016 – “I just wanted to send you a short note to say how much I appreciated Gary’s (lim) instruction yesterday. He was really helpful with questions and brought me back up to speed (and confidence) with diving. Out of curiosity, now that I have completed the online and pool work, will the refresher course be recorded on my PADI file?”

Basset Bai – April 2016 – “1 company that I would go diving with again n again.. very nice ppl especially Karen n Gary during my LOB trip on 2nd n 3rd April… will surely recommend to other diver.” Karen’s photos from this trip can be viewed here.

Elias Goh  – January 2016 – “Special shout out to instructor Alex! Thank you for your awesome swimming pool training!!! Hope to do my hantu dive with you someday! Cheers XD Stay awesome!”

Paul Clarke – November 2015 – “Sisters was great fun today. A nice couple of dives in good conditions and an all round well organized trip. Thanks Gary and crew!

Vasily Rybakin- July 2015 – “Just wanted to thank you for the fantastic trip last weekend. This was a perfect way to spend my last days in Singapore. I hope I’ll be able to come back some time next year for your next trip to the Repulse and Prince of Wales.”

Katherine Lu – June 2015 – “Hi Karen, as requested, here is the picture of Shaun that I took. The best one I have ever taken and ironically the smallest too at 2-3mm.   Thanks to Julius for pointing him out. I also saw what I thought was a nurse shark on the first dive but then looked it up and it was actually an adult bamboo shark (first for me too!)  I will definitely back again and again to take some more as shaun is my favourite slug (but so challenging) and right here in our backyard.”

GS-Diving Shaun the sheep

GS-Diving Shaun the sheep

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Rachael Ong – May 2015 – “Excellent dive school, Julius was my instructor and I learnt a lot under his guidance, very professional too. He covered more skills than what a open water diver should know. Gary and team was very prompt and excellent in my queries. Highly recommended! Thank you GS-diving for the wonderful experience and your professionalism. :)

Kevin Lees – May 2015 – “The diving this weekend was awesome. Julius was a great Instructor and I didn’t realize how much sea life I was going to get to see. The sting rays and cuttlefish were incredible and I couldn’t believe how many clown fish and sea anemone there were.”

Mark David Morris – April 2015 (as a review on Facebook) “Had a fun trip on the Seaborne to Riau Islands. 10-20m viz, beautiful sea fan gardens and big schools of jacks. BBQ on the last night topped it off!”

Ned Speed – January 2015 – “Excellent dive school. Gary and his team are extremely professional, knowledgeable, experienced and always put safety first. I highly recommend GS Diving if you’re seeking the best dive training available in Singapore.”

Miguel Angel Almagro Vargas – January 2015 – “Hi Gary, thanks for helping me out to get certified and showing us the boat wreck in Hantu. Here is the video I filmed down there in November.” To view the video on Vimeo – click here

Danesh Dabu – “Hi Gary, sorry for the late response. Just thought I’d let you know I am currently in Phuket and I went on a diving day trip today. It was amazing, the visibility was great and we even went down to a wreck! Scuba diving is really fun and it will be something I will pursue in the near future, thanks again for the course!”

Orjan – October 2014 – “Many thanks to you Lillian and Julius for a great experience.  We will be seeing you at future GS dive trips.”

John Smith – 15 September 2014 (by email) – “I like the helpful information you provide for your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again right here frequently. I am quite certain I’ll be informed many new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!” – read Gary’s Blog

Stephanie Soh – September 2014 – “The Infamous Hantu of Singapore . . . known for its green waters and viz of one arm’s length. With much hesitation, I gave Hantu a second chance and I am glad that I did. We were blessed with good viz of at least 5m and were greeted by the sea life which we never saw on our last dive at Hantu. Singaporeans should dive in Hantu at least once just to see what’s in our backyard.” – to view her photos – click here

Chay Hoon – 3 August 2014 – Chay Hoon’s blog about Saturday’s local dive – click here

May 2014 – View our Customers blog about Hantu – click here

Hugh – April 2014 – “We bought this [PADI Junior Open Water] for our son for his 10th birthday and I think it is the most amazing present we have ever given him. He loved the course, he worked hard on the theory component, and was incredibly proud when he completed the course. He finished the course in March and has now done 10 dives! He absolutely loves it. We wanted to give him something memorable for his 10th birthday and I think this experience was perfect. He will never forget his 10th birthday present.” – read Hugh’s review on RedBoxGifts.com.sg here

Lisa Marie Joy Hallmi – “Hi Gary, I really had a good time this weekend and last weekend.  Thank you for everything and making the whole thing easy to accomplish.”

Angelica Teo – May 2013 – One of the PADI Open Water Students who contributed to the Trip Report 3-5 May. “The Scuba Diving trip was exciting and got all our hearts thumping with excitement. We got to see a whole new world, under the waves, the heart of the ocean, which we had to venture to see. You will not believe what is hidden from our reach. Every time you go down there, it feels like a dream, every time you hit the water, you feel like you’re floating in air….” to read the rest, please visit the Trip Report – click here

Kimberley – March 2013 – One of the Advance PADI Open Water Students who contributed to the Trip Report 22-24 March. “It’s a little scary when you’re on a boat, literally in the middle of nowhere, with not a single piece of dry land in sight. But that’s exactly where we were. No phone signal, 60 miles away from the closest island. It’s just you and the deep blue… along with 20 other divers and crew on board. Even though we seemed to have anchored ourselves down to any random spot of the blue, if you had a further look, you would have realised we were floating right above The Seven Skies ship which sunk in 1968…” to read the rest, please visit the Trip Report – click here

Phil Perchard – February 2013 – “Just arrived back from a great diving trip to Cebu, thanks to Gary Savins for organizing. Photo’s to come tomorrow.”

Hugues Ricor – February 2013 – “Thanks for the great trip, Gary. Was an awesome moment!”

Bob Johnson – January 2013 – “We both had a great time, and Jade’s already asking about a weekend dive trip.”

Donna Lim – December 2012 – “Gary, thank you for coming all the way from the East side to do the test with Jade.  Glad She passed it well!  See you on the scheduled pool dives.” ‎

Erica Sung – October 2012 – “It was an awesome trip – thanks everyone for making my long weekend so fun!”

Suzanne Roat  – October 2012 – “Thanks for a most awesome weekend of great diving! Again…”

Craig Kingston – October 2012 – “Thanks again from Rex and I for the great weekend.”

Rahul Paris – October 2012 – “I just wanted to thank you guys for the great training and trip.  Everything went smoothly and I learned quite a lot from you guys.  I will definantly recommend you for the future.  Glenn was great out on the trip and would love to get to dive with you guys again.  I think Jake is going to contact you soon about doing the advanced training.  So hopefully we see you then.”

Natasha Yong – August 2012 – “Wanna thank you again for the wonderful long weekend dive trip. By far the best dives I’ve done in a long time. The wrecks were truly amazing and it was a privilege to have had the up close and personal encounter.  The entire team were fantastic, from the food to all the assisting in and out of the water.”

Karen Ball – August 2012 – “Excellent online material + great backup from Gary made the nitrox course very easy to learn and satisfactory to my needs.  All round, job well done!”

Tony Goldsmith – August 2012 – “Thanks Gary.  A great weekend.”

Angela Meade – August 2012 – “Great weekend diving. Weather, company excellent. Viz was not bad. Thoroughly enjoyed, thank you Gary, Armand and team :)”

Philip Loh – July 2012 – “Thanks Gary, for the hard work! ; p thanks Paul, Matt, Georgie and Phil for the great dive! My arms are aching from the last dive surface stop! ” (Gary – not DCS, just hard work holding the line during deco)

Matt Winstanley – July 2012 – “Many thanks to Gary Savins for some awesome teaching, now passed TDI Advanced Nitrox and Deco Procedures… (for you non-divers, that means that when I go down, I can go a little deeper and stay a lot longer…) ;-)
looking forward to next weekend with Andy Bennett in Cebu and Malapascua…”

Paul Sung – July 2012 – “Great diving weekend. Looking forward to the next trip!”

Georgina UnderwaterPhoto – July 2012 – “A really enjoyable weekend – some good diving, learnt a lot and we all had a good laugh too, thanks!”

PlanetDry – June 2012 – SALToff – “This Saltoff is good stuff…. i have seen it in action here on Koh Tao (Thailand) … excellent for removing salt crystals…. Scubapro Hong Kong are recommending you rinse your gear it it.” from the ScubaSG forum

Angela Meade – May 2012 – “Love reading the dive trip reports!  Wish I was there more often.”

Sara Saraswati – May 2012 – FASTencil -“no more midgets, elves, dwarfs, leprechauns, and even occasional trolls can claim my wetsuit to be theirs anymore! :)”

Alain Chong – March 2012 – “I would like to thank you for all the mails and updates on upcoming trips and even your trip reports.  I really do enjoy reading them. It somehow keeps my passion alive.  You did a good job.”

David Maritz – March 2012 – “Gary, thank you very much for leading my son Jared through the SDI Jnr OW course and then myself through the PADI DM course. Your professional but relaxed approach was really valued and much appreciated.”

Alison Danziger (Mother of 11 year old daughter) – March 2012 –  “Thanks for the amazing week-end, Meghan and I had a fantastic time and she was so pumped that she conquered some of the challenges – it was amazing to watch her do that!!! I look forward to going again with you.”

Jeffrey Tan Bing Hwee  – February 2012 – “We like reading your report. It’s very entertaining. Thanks buddy”

Evan Devine – January 2012 – “Thanks, Gary! Great course and a great instructor. You could teach a rock to swim… or dive.”

Georgina UnderwaterPhoto  – November 2011 – “One of the best diving companies in Singapore.”

Save

© 2018 GS-DIVING Pte. Ltd. Affiliated with Scuba-Do.com

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?